“The Denney” Award

"The Denney" Award

“The Denney” Award is presented to the winner in each category.

The Denney

“The Denney” Award was designed by Alan Denney in 1988 – the year Arts Awards Waterloo Region (AAWR) was born. Following a public call for proposals, three artists were selected and asked to submit maquettes. A jury selected what is now known as “The Denney” – the official Arts Award.

Denney Pins

This initiative was implemented in 2001 to create a more portable symbol of the Arts Awards. The Arts Awards committee commissioned Knar Jewellery to design individual sterling silver Denney lapel pins based on the original Denney.

Denney pins are a symbol that Arts Awards recipients can wear anytime to acknowledge their achievement and make them more visible in the community. Awards recipients from the current year will be presented with their Denney the following year at the Arts Awards Recognition Reception.