Important Announcement from the Arts Awards Waterloo Region Board

Arts Awards Waterloo Region (AAWR) is a non-profit arts organization whose purpose is to recognize honour and celebrate the arts sector in a meaningful way that highlights and showcases creativity in the Region of Waterloo.

We have celebrated excellence in the arts and arts organizations for the past 28 years with annual public nominations, independent juried adjudication and gala events to recognize artists and present awards.

The organization expanded by electing a new Board of Directors to oversee its current and future development, while also successfully carrying out the Arts Awards program in 2016.

With a new Board of Directors come new perspectives and new ideas.  As a result, we want to find ways to do more for our community while preserving our mandate.

After discussion and thoughtful deliberation, the Board of Directors has decided to forego the 2017 gala and enter a period of strategic planning to evaluate the direction and the future of Arts Awards.

Looking at our processes and incorporating new and exciting ideas requires us to pause and consider the most appropriate way forward.  This process will include community consultations, input from our stakeholders and an organizational assessment.

The nominations that have been submitted for consideration this year will be held on file for the next awards submission period.

We thank all of our volunteers, participants, municipal and corporate sponsors, for their participation and support thus far. We will contact our stakeholders with more information.

We look forward, with excitement, to this next phase of Arts Awards.

For more information, please go to the FAQs section or contact anyone of our Board members:

CJ Allen Chair
Lauren Judge Vice Chair and Marketing Chair
Rebecca Short Past Chair
Wanda Eby Program Chair
Don Flanagan Treasurer-Secretary
Suzanne Luke Governance Chair
Tatjana Stoiljkovic Sponsorship Chair